Athletics

Sports Update Linked Image

  Delaware Academy Athletics  

 

ALL SPORTS INFORMATION:

Varsity and Junior Varsity Winter sports begin November 15th
Modified Winter 1 sports (Volleyball/boys basketball) begin October 25th
Modified Winter 2 sports (Wrestling/Girls basketball) begin January 3rd



Athletes and Parents:
In a little over a month from now we will be starting Winter sports, It's seems like they ended just yesterday.  As a reminder, Winter sports will consist of Girls Basketball, Boys Basketball, Wrestling, Indoor Track and Field and Modified Volleyball.  

It is extremely important that your athlete has an up to date physical prior to the start of the season.  Last year athletic physicals were not required due to COVID, however that will not be the case for our 2021-2022 school year.  It's possible many physicals are well past overdue and athletes will not be able to participate until they have an update sports physical.  This should be done sooner rather than later and can be done through contacting the DASH office (746-7454) or through your primary care physician.  If you go to a primary care please make sure you provide a copy of the updated physical on the first day of practice.  

Finally, should you have any question about a specific sport, it's requirements, etcetera, please do not hesitate to reach out to your child's coach or Jeff Ferrara directly. 
Any information pertaining to athletics protocols pertaining to COVID for winter sports will be shared with you as they are received.  Please be advised at this point we do have an indoor mask mandate that will also pertain to indoor athletics.


   2021-'22 Delaware Academy Coaching Staff   

Girls Varsity Basketball: Todd Bruce  |Tbruce@delhischools.org
Girls JV Basketball: Connor Broesler |Cbroesler@delhichools.org
Girls Modified Basketball: TBD
Boys Varsity Basketball: Warren Kelly |Wkelly@delhischools.org
Boys JV Basketball: David Kelly |Dkelly@delhischools.org
Boys Modified Basketball: William Mokay |Mokayw@gmail.com
Varsity Indoor Track and Field: Terry Legg |Tlegg@delhischools.org
Wrestling: Jon Pecori |Jpecori@delhischools.org




Some items to note:

1. Delaware Academy athletes submit the name of each person in advance. This list can change each game.

2. Visiting schools will have to submit a list of those attending the games.

3. Each spectator is required to sign in and supply a phone number for any possible contact tracing.

4. Masks are required, in addition to social distancing.

In regard to games played at a neutral site, fans will not be allowed to attend for either team at this time.

Delaware Academy appreciates the community’s support and understanding during this time. 

 

Bulldog small
Welcome to the Home of the Delaware Academy Bulldogs






Athletics Schedule
Subscribe to this calendar at:
https://www.schedulegalaxy.com/schools/123

 


-->
          
State Champions!



Girl's Basketball  2018
Football 2001
Women's Cross Country 1978, 1979, 1981,2019


 Mission Statement

To create an environment focused on pride, unity and character; where student-athletes demonstrate a strong social conscience.  The Delaware Academy Athletic Department considers athletics an integral part of education.  It is our goal to give our student athletes the tools and skills to achieve this mission. Being a part of a team not only promotes a healthy lifestyle but provides multiple opportunities for skill enhancement, competition, collaboration, and cooperation. We also believe that physical fitness, discipline and success can help promote academic success, and we expect that our athletes take pride in their performance in the classroom as well as on the field. While we strive to build competitive, winning teams, our primary mission is to promote the values of education, school spirit and fair play.


Contact Us:
Sports Coordinator Jeff Ferrara
jferrara@delhischools.org
(607) 746-1330

Principal Robin Robbins
rrobbins@delhischools.org
(607) 746-1300
Superintendent Kelly Zimmerman
kzimmerman@delhischools.org
(607) 746-1300
Transportation Gregg Verspoor
gverspoor@delhischools.org
(607) 746-3574

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.